Now holding AUDITIONS for the production! Click here to learn more.

The Hamlet Voyage

Coming Summer 2022 to the Bristol Harbour Festival

and the Bridewell Theatre, London

The Hamlet Voyage is a new play about the first written record of a performance of Hamlet, acted by sailors in 1607 off the coast of Sierra Leone for local West African dignitaries, on the first English voyage to reach India.

The play will examine this cross-cultural encounter that took place before England became deeply involved in the Atlantic slave trade, before the age of British imperialism, and before Shakespeare became a global name. Together with the audience, we will imagine how history might have turned out differently and where we go from here.

We will perform on a replica sailing ship, The Matthew, in July 2022, the 415th anniversary of the original Hamlet performance. From there, we will transfer to the Bridewell Theatre in London.

Pics from our staged reading at RADA and R&D workshop at Trinity Community Arts, Bristol

Meet the Team


Kwaku Ankomah



Olivia Altaras

Set & Costume


Pamela c Lidia Crisafulli.png

Pamela Schermann

Consultant Producer


Anurupa Roy

Puppetry Director

& Designer


Ben Prusiner



Jeevan Singh

Music Director

Screen Shot 2021-09-26 at 8.04.31 PM.png

Rex Obano



David Dravie-John

Movement Director


Neuza Pereira Sa

Assistant Director &

Assistant Designer


Lysa Dicks

Social Media Manager


Sophia Staddon

Social Media


Joseph 2.jpeg

Joseph Bangura


Temne Culture


Laurence Publicover


Shakespeare & Maritime History

Jiamiao Chen.jpg

Jiamiao Chen


Supported by

lottery_Logo_Black RGB.jpg
Brigstow logo.png
Fenton logo hi res.jpg

Extra Special Thanks

to all our supporters including

David Alvarado, Michael Baird, Bob Barker, Anne Born, Kerreen Brandt, Alex Carpenter, Peter Charlton, Margie Cleland, Claire Coast-Smith, Julie Edwards, Mic Errington, Scott Farber, Jeannine Farr, Sherwyn Fullington, Caroline Gabriel, Celia Gilbert, Ian Giles, Frances Gray, A.R. Greenway, Melissa House, Raveem Ismail, Will Jelliffe, Annette Johnson, Peter Jolly, Peter Jones, Miranda Kaufmann, Allen Kennedy, Daniel Leroux, Victor Lirio, Nicole Melendez, Lauren Melnick, Caroline Mozley, Michael Ohajuru, Howard Owens, Jim & Gayle Pfeil, Dyan Pike, Lauren Prusiner & Vincent Fish, Paul & Christine Prusiner, Sandra Prusiner, Gerit Quealy, Julianne Rhoads, Eric Ringold, Robin Warner Stanwell Roads, Dory Schultz, Elly Shepherd, Jaspreet Singh, Barbara Sippel, David Sippel, Lindsay Tanner, Benjamin Thapa, Jeannine Thurston, Ernest Wayne Torigoe, Lee & Melinda Varian, Jac Wynn

and all our Anonymous donors